Thread poster: Lloyd Bingham
Lloyd Bingham
Lloyd Bingham  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 16:07
French to English
+ ...
Jul 26, 2016

I am a tutor on ITI's Setting Up as a Freelance Translator course. The course will start again this September and I'm currently updating my notes for my module entitled 'Promoting yourself and engaging with the industry online'.

To help validate and update the advice I give, I'd be incredibly grateful if you could find time to take a very brief survey on what role your online presence plays in your success as a translator. There are only 5 questions, all multiple choice.

... See more
I am a tutor on ITI's Setting Up as a Freelance Translator course. The course will start again this September and I'm currently updating my notes for my module entitled 'Promoting yourself and engaging with the industry online'.

To help validate and update the advice I give, I'd be incredibly grateful if you could find time to take a very brief survey on what role your online presence plays in your success as a translator. There are only 5 questions, all multiple choice.

The aim is to evaluate what media/platforms freelance translators are using for professional purposes in 2016, with a focus on identifying which are useful for attracting clients and which are useful for engaging with colleagues (for advice, terminology queries, social aspects, etc.). It would be interesting to see how much or little crossover there is here.

There is then a free text box for any comments you may wish to make on your approach to using media/platforms to promote your business and attract clients. I'd be interested to hear how much of your workload/income you can attribute to your online presence (clients who found you online, translators you met online who referred you, etc.).

No need to enter your name or any other personal details so all data is anonymised but it will help to train the next generation.