Would interpreting be a good career?
Thread poster: thejanedoe
thejanedoe
thejanedoe
United States
Jan 31, 2015

Hi everyone!

I'm a soon-to-be freshman at a university in Texas. I've wanted to be an interpreter for a long time, so my plan is to major in Spanish, minor in a second language (possibly Arabic or Mandarin), and, if/when I can afford it, get a graduate degree in interpreting and/or translating.

I also have this really random love for biology, and I'm pretty good at it, so I've been considering minoring in biology as well (I know it sounds a little ridiculous, but with t
... See more
Hi everyone!

I'm a soon-to-be freshman at a university in Texas. I've wanted to be an interpreter for a long time, so my plan is to major in Spanish, minor in a second language (possibly Arabic or Mandarin), and, if/when I can afford it, get a graduate degree in interpreting and/or translating.

I also have this really random love for biology, and I'm pretty good at it, so I've been considering minoring in biology as well (I know it sounds a little ridiculous, but with the amount of AP credits I have I should be able to complete the undergraduate degrees in four years without extra classes). I'm thinking that with a minor in biology, I would be more attractive as an interpreter to organizations like the CDC, MDAnderson, and hospitals, simply because I would have a better understanding of the topics I would be interpreting (I don't expect to have any actual biology-related responsibilities with just a minor).

I know I could get a minor in business and look just as good if not better to corporations...but I really, really do not want to get a minor in busniess. I'm just not interested in it. And I love biology.