Thread poster: Audra deFalco (X)
Audra deFalco (X)
Audra deFalco (X)
United States
Local time: 10:10
Italian to English
+ ...
Dec 10, 2013

Hello all! I've got a quick question about language combinations when it comes to conference interpreting.

I've been a translator since 2003 and have been officially certified to interpret within the court system here in New York since 2012, though I've been interpreting before then on and off without formal training. My ultimate goal is to interpret for an organization like the European Union or the United Nations.

The crux of the matter is this: seeing as I have dual
... See more
Hello all! I've got a quick question about language combinations when it comes to conference interpreting.

I've been a translator since 2003 and have been officially certified to interpret within the court system here in New York since 2012, though I've been interpreting before then on and off without formal training. My ultimate goal is to interpret for an organization like the European Union or the United Nations.

The crux of the matter is this: seeing as I have dual U.S. Italian citizenship, I want to go to school in either an English speaking country in Europe or in Italy. England might be prohibitively expensive for me what with the Pound, and as I've already lived, worked and studied in Italy I would love to go back. I have plenty of time to consider my options as I'll be finishing my education in the Netherlands; in the meantime, I'll be spending my time honing my linguistic skills and continuing to work in the field.

Are there any schools that offer the following combinations in either Italy or elsewhere?

A- ENGLISH (or Italian if, obviously, I were to go to school in Italy)
B- ITALIAN/ENGLISH (depending on my choice for my A language)
C- SPANISH
C- FRENCH

or

A- ENGLISH (or Italian if I'm studying in Italy)
C- ITALIAN/ENGLISH
C- SPANISH
C- FRENCH