Repeated words? How do you work that out?
Thread poster: Maria Pardo
Maria Pardo
Maria Pardo
Spain
Local time: 08:51
Dec 6, 2016

Hi everybody, I wonder if anyone can help me.

I've been offered to translate a website, and as I'm not a professional translator (though I can translate) and I'm doing this as a one-off (at least for now), I don't know how to invoice it, how to calculate the amount of words, basically. I've read that most clients nowadays want translators to discount repeated words, but I have no idea how to work that out; I do not have translating software, and the way I'm doing it is copying the c
... See more
Hi everybody, I wonder if anyone can help me.

I've been offered to translate a website, and as I'm not a professional translator (though I can translate) and I'm doing this as a one-off (at least for now), I don't know how to invoice it, how to calculate the amount of words, basically. I've read that most clients nowadays want translators to discount repeated words, but I have no idea how to work that out; I do not have translating software, and the way I'm doing it is copying the content of each page, pasting it into a Word document, translating it, then pasting it back on the website (I don't know whether it sounds cowboyish to you, being professionals, but I don't know how to do it any other way...). I'm accumulating separate documents (well, I'm actually using Open Office), so I guess at the end I'll have to do a word count on each and add them all up, but how on Earth can I work out how many repeated words there are, and which type of words? It sounds quite bizarre to me, and if the most common words (such as articles, prepositions and the like) have to be discounted, it's going to end up like a skeleton of the translated job, and I can imagine much more than half the words will have to be taken off!

I'm really lost, and would really appreciate some guidance!

Thank you so much in advance.

[Edited at 2016-12-06 20:17 GMT]
Collapse