Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Is working for Lionbridge an advisable starting point for a beginner?
Thread poster: Wendel Chaves de Jesus
Wendel Chaves de Jesus
Wendel Chaves de Jesus  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 08:38
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Jul 28, 2016

Hey there! I am Wendel, a Brazilian linguist. I graduated recently in English and then I got a graduate diploma in language teaching methodology. Currently I am pursuing a graduate diploma in English to Portuguese translation. I have read many topics about how to get started here on Proz and I decided to become a full member to pursue my dream of being a competent full-time translator. I work as an English teacher and as a volunteer translator for two websites to obtain experience. I am a beginn... See more
Hey there! I am Wendel, a Brazilian linguist. I graduated recently in English and then I got a graduate diploma in language teaching methodology. Currently I am pursuing a graduate diploma in English to Portuguese translation. I have read many topics about how to get started here on Proz and I decided to become a full member to pursue my dream of being a competent full-time translator. I work as an English teacher and as a volunteer translator for two websites to obtain experience. I am a beginner, so forgive me if I say something stupid. My question is simple: I have been volunteering to obtain experience and it has been good so far, but not receiving any money is not good at all. I decided to research about starting points for beginners and then I found out about Lionbridge. I read many topics here about it and most people say that Lionbridge does not pay much and some other things regarding possibly abusive practices. Still, I have been translating for free, so... would you advise me to go for it or not? I would like to thank those who answer in advance for their valuable contribution.Collapse

Liviu-Lee Roth
Liviu-Lee Roth
United States
Local time: 07:38
Romanian to English
+ ...