Thread poster: Luke Mersh
Luke Mersh
Luke Mersh  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:53
Spanish to English
Nov 19, 2014

Hello everybody.

I am a graduating Interpreting DPSI student just resiting a few exams again.

My language pair is SpanishEnglish--Pathway healthcare.

Native in English.

My question is the following:
I was contacted via this forum to do some general medical claims translations for this client, but not being a professional translator I kindly declined the work.

I work from Monday to Thursday, but from Friday to Sunday I am fre
... See more
Hello everybody.

I am a graduating Interpreting DPSI student just resiting a few exams again.

My language pair is SpanishEnglish--Pathway healthcare.

Native in English.

My question is the following:
I was contacted via this forum to do some general medical claims translations for this client, but not being a professional translator I kindly declined the work.

I work from Monday to Thursday, but from Friday to Sunday I am free.....
I am looking for advice on getting established , ie-

1- how much work( words) should I take on for this time frame?
2- what rate should I charge for a beginner ?

I passed my medical translations in my exam and have general medical and healthcare knowledge.

I would like to start somewhere and get just get my foot in the door and gain some experience.

all advise welcome.

[Edited at 2014-11-19 14:58 GMT]
Collapse

ATIL KAYHAN
ATIL KAYHAN  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 20:53
Member (2007)
Turkish to English
+ ...
Suggestions Nov 19, 2014

Dear Luke,