Accents: AZERTY or QWERTY: is it worth changing keyboard?
Thread poster: Luna Jungblut
Luna Jungblut
Luna Jungblut  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
English to French
+ ...
Dec 9, 2014

"Accents: AZERTY or QWERTY: is it worth changing keyboard?"

Dear ProZ family,

I am a young freelance translator, getting there slowly but surely =)
I have been reading a lot on the forums, and on the website in general, and it has helped
me a tremendous lot. So thank you!!
I will be becoming a member in the very near future!

This is my first post (of many I hope!!),

I turn to you for a strictly technical and practical questi
... See more
"Accents: AZERTY or QWERTY: is it worth changing keyboard?"

Dear ProZ family,

I am a young freelance translator, getting there slowly but surely =)
I have been reading a lot on the forums, and on the website in general, and it has helped
me a tremendous lot. So thank you!!
I will be becoming a member in the very near future!

This is my first post (of many I hope!!),

I turn to you for a strictly technical and practical question, because only established translators could answer.

I have been using a QWERTY keyboard for a good couple of years, and had to get used to the lengthy process of adding accents (I work into French).
Now though, I am going to buy a PC in order to run Trados Studio and I got very excited about getting the French AZERTY keyboard, since I have a choice!

This means I will be using a QWERTY keyboard as well as an AZERTY keyboard on a daily basis. Is this madness for brain/fingers memory? Is this going to confuse rather than help me?

Thank you very much,
Luna Jungblut
FR EN, SP > FR
Collapse

Tony M
Tony M
France
Local time: 00:15
French to English
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
AZERTY Dec 10, 2014

Welcome to the profession, and to ProZ.com!