Thread poster: Kristina Cosumano (X)
Kristina Cosumano (X)
Kristina Cosumano (X)  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 22:58
German to English
Aug 27, 2015

Hello all,

I am new to ProZ and this is my first question in a forum here. This may be more suitable in the Agencies category, but ProZ will not permit me to post a question there.

I answered a recent advert for translation work in the jobs listings. The (highly-rated) agency rep wrote that she'd be happy to have me, that she was still in negotiations for the delivery times, and after a back and forth of e-mails (my signing an agreement with their Terms/Conditions, and
... See more
Hello all,

I am new to ProZ and this is my first question in a forum here. This may be more suitable in the Agencies category, but ProZ will not permit me to post a question there.

I answered a recent advert for translation work in the jobs listings. The (highly-rated) agency rep wrote that she'd be happy to have me, that she was still in negotiations for the delivery times, and after a back and forth of e-mails (my signing an agreement with their Terms/Conditions, and confirming my rates), but no contract signed for this specific project, I waited.
The evening deadline came and went, and the next morning I wrote to ask if there had been a misunderstanding. Oh, the client apparently got a better offer somewhere else, she replied. Apologies for the confusion.
My question is: is this unusual? Is it my job to push for a concrete agreement in writing right away, or is this just something that happens and is part of the business? Was her response the non-confrontational form of "thanks but no thanks"? (I have been living in German-speaking countries for so long, that I suspect I no longer recognise the "codes" of English-language business correspondence.) I would have just chalked this up to lack of organisation on the agency's part but they come very highly rated here.
Collapse

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain