HenriekeMarkert
HenriekeMarkert  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 02:46
Italian to German
+ ...
Mar 27, 2015

Hi everyone,

I am just getting started and still unsure about some practices. Exactly a week ago I did a proofreading job for a client who told me he would send me the PO with the invoicing details. On Tuesday I send him an email asking when he would be able to send me the PO. Now it's Friday and I haven't heard from him. Does anybody has some advice?

Best,
Henrieke

Tim Friese
Tim Friese  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 19:46
Member (2013)
Arabic to English
+ ...
Invoice it already! Mar 27, 2015

Hi Henrieke, welcome to the field and good luck!

As a rule, I refuse to make my business subject to others' flakiness, so if I haven't received a PO by delivery, I invoice the job myself. If they need me to reference a PO later on, I can always update the invoice keeping the original date issued and payment date.

Feel free to keep pestering them, but I've found with flaky agency clients that the thing that gets their attention is the proz blueboard. As soon as t
... See more
Hi Henrieke, welcome to the field and good luck!

As a rule, I refuse to make my business subject to others' flakiness, so if I haven't received a PO by delivery, I invoice the job myself. If they need me to reference a PO later on, I can always update the invoice keeping the original date issued and payment date.

Feel free to keep pestering them, but I've found with flaky agency clients that the thing that gets their attention is the proz blueboard. As soon as the payment is late, you can threaten to report it, and payment generally shows up then
Collapse

Jennifer Forbes
Jennifer Forbes  Identity Verified
Local time: 01:46
French to English
+ ...
In memoriam
Don't start work without a PO Mar 27, 2015