Ananthalakshmi
Ananthalakshmi
India
Local time: 10:41
German to English
+ ...
Nov 25, 2014

Dear fellow translators,

I am from India and I have done a masters in Translation Studies at Uni Mainz with German and English as my languages. I have been considered for an in-house translator position by one of the major Swiss financial institutions for their local office in Poland. I have 6+ years of language-editing experience (finance texts/English) plus around 3 years' full-time experience as a technical translator (DE-EN).

Can anyone tell me how much I could exp
... See more
Dear fellow translators,

I am from India and I have done a masters in Translation Studies at Uni Mainz with German and English as my languages. I have been considered for an in-house translator position by one of the major Swiss financial institutions for their local office in Poland. I have 6+ years of language-editing experience (finance texts/English) plus around 3 years' full-time experience as a technical translator (DE-EN).

Can anyone tell me how much I could expect to be paid for a full-time position as a German-English Translator in this instance? I would appreciate any help from my polish friends.

Thanks a ton for taking time to read this and respond!

Anantha
Collapse

Tomasz Sienicki
Tomasz Sienicki  Identity Verified
Denmark
Local time: 07:11
Member (2007)
Danish to Polish
+ ...
Try the Polish forum Nov 25, 2014

Try asking this in the Polish forum.

Phil Hand
Phil Hand  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 13:11
Chinese to English
Not necessarily a Polish rate Nov 26, 2014

You're going to an international office to do an international job. Your pay won't necessarily reflect local rates. If it were me, I'd be asking for a decent international salary. (Think 40K EUR.)

Balasubramaniam L.
Balasubramaniam L.  Identity Verified
India
Member (2006)
English to Hindi
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
Europe is a very diverse continent Nov 26, 2014